In Cell Editing for dynamic columns

UI Components for JSF
tosh

29 Jun 2011, 10:16

Hi,

Im new to JSF(2.1.1-b04) & PrimeFaces (3.0.M1), so far Ive found it all very easy to use and highly recommend it.

Im having a bit of trouble creating an editable datatable with dynamic columns.

Basically Im creating an application that must render data from a database and allow users the ability to edit that data. I have implemented a p:datatable with dynamic colums. The user can choose from approx 100 tables to edit, and they all have different columns. I managed to dynamically create the datatable columns very easily and quickly.

The trouble Im having is enabling the editing facility on the p:columns - is it even possible? I can get it working very easily on a standard p:column tag - so Im not sure if my syntax is wrong or if its just not available.

I hope it is available as its an important part of my application.

My datatable code is like this :

<p:dataTable var="logData" value="#{logEditsBean.nmcsLogData}" >
<p:column headerText="Edit">
<p:rowEditor />
</p:column>
<p:columns value="#{logEditsBean.fieldInfo}"
var="column"
columnIndexVar="colIndex">
<f:facet name="header">
#{column.columnName}
</f:facet>
<p:cellEditor>
<f:facet name="output">
<h:outputText value="#{logData.logFields[colIndex].value} " />
<f:facet name="input">
<h:inputText value="#{logData.logFields[colIndex].value}" />
</p:cellEditor>
</p:columns>
</p:dataTable>

Thanks for your time

tosh

29 Jun 2011, 12:11

Anyone come across this before, or is my question a stupid one that has been answered multiple times?

I have looked for the answer in the forums and google and found nothing other than posts with no replies.

Thanks

tosh

29 Jun 2011, 15:33

ok, I got around it by dynamically creating my columns in a loop. Here is my solution - just in case anyone else hits the same issues I had.

If the cell is editable then I render the p:cellEditor tag, otherwise a standard outputText tag

Code: Select all