Some Scheduling Questions

UI Components for JSF
AndrewS

25 Jul 2011, 20:26

As a preface, I'm relatively new to Java, but have many years experience with Visual Studio and Web languages. So some of the intricacies of Java may be beyond me.

1) I'm creating a Scheduling component, and am looking to create a view that shows the schedules of multiple employees at once. I've bought the manual, but I'm seeing nothing promising there. I had thought of creating a page with 4 schedule items defaulting to and only allowing Day view, but with no visible way of having all the schedules sync the selected date (when you change it with the arrows,) it's looking like I'll have to create my own schedule from scratch. Hopefully I'm wrong on that.

I understand I could just dump all the appointments into a single Schedule, but each employee's appointments needs to be separate from the others via columns or such.

2) I need a way to find the first few available appointments in the future when given a set of employees to search from. This is a pain in the rear. A single worker I could probably manage well enough, but with my appointments allowing multiple employees to attend, it ends up being a 4-table nightmare of a query that I just get lost in.

Table Layout:

Schedule -> lnkScheduleEmployees -> Employees -> Location

So a single schedule item uses the Link table (just stores the PKs for the two other tables) to hold a list of attending Employees, and each Employee also belongs to a single Location. So when I'm looking for an available appointment, I do so either by a single Employee search (though they would rarely use this method,) or by Location (more common.) The latter is the nightmare for me.

I have to grab a list of Employees at that location (one of which has over 1000 listed Employees,) and then look for a free slot and spit out the top ten or so.

A coworker suggest setting up a View, which I've honestly never worked with.