How to force menu to drop down ?

UI Components for JSF
meti
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Dec 2011, 18:56

19 Dec 2011, 19:00

Hi,
when it have not enough space, the menu component, drops on top of the page.
Is it possible to force this component to drop down, and, when it have not enough space, to scroll down the page to find latest entries ?

Thanks a lot for your response.

METI

meti
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Dec 2011, 18:56

29 Dec 2011, 11:59

Nobody cann't help me ?
This feature is a really big problem.

Meti

smithh032772
Posts: 6144
Joined: 10 Sep 2011, 21:10

30 Dec 2011, 01:58

Please reply with your xhtml; that might help us to answer your question. If you're using templates, please reply with all xhtml files that include the menu. When pasting your code/xhtml, please click the Code button above the editor here, and paste your code/xhtml inside of the Code tags.

And reply with your test/development environment details like you see in my signature below.
Howard

PrimeFaces 6.0, Extensions 6.0.0, Push (Atmosphere 2.4.0)
TomEE+ 1.7.4 (Tomcat 7.0.68), MyFaces Core 2.2.9, JDK8
JUEL 2.2.7 | OmniFaces | EclipseLink-JPA/Derby | Chrome

Java EE 6 Tutorial|NetBeans|Google|Stackoverflow|PrimeFaces|Apache

meti
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Dec 2011, 18:56

30 Dec 2011, 17:07

Sorry but my xhtml won't help to answer because all entries are generated from the backing bean.
But i'm searching a solution to explain my problem better.

Thanks a lot for your answer.

meti

smithh032772
Posts: 6144
Joined: 10 Sep 2011, 21:10

30 Dec 2011, 17:23

meti wrote:Nobody cann't help me ?
This feature is a really big problem.

Meti
meti wrote:Sorry but my xhtml won't help to answer because all entries are generated from the backing bean.
But i'm searching a solution to explain my problem better.

Thanks a lot for your answer.

meti
Interesting response from you, based on your prior response. Your bean and xhtml can help others to understand your problem, especially when you are not provided a detailed problem statement.
Howard

PrimeFaces 6.0, Extensions 6.0.0, Push (Atmosphere 2.4.0)
TomEE+ 1.7.4 (Tomcat 7.0.68), MyFaces Core 2.2.9, JDK8
JUEL 2.2.7 | OmniFaces | EclipseLink-JPA/Derby | Chrome

Java EE 6 Tutorial|NetBeans|Google|Stackoverflow|PrimeFaces|Apache

cagatay.civici
Prime
Posts: 18616
Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 00:21
Location: Cybertron
Contact:

30 Dec 2011, 17:30

Sorry but my xhtml won't help to answer because all entries are generated from the backing bean.
First time I read sth like this in this forum for the past 3 years.

meti
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Dec 2011, 18:56

02 Jan 2012, 20:33

I found the trick.
And it had nothing to do with components around the menubar.
This behaviour is a naturel behaviour of the wijmo menu component, when it have not enough space to drop down, it drops to the top.
I work for the java community since more than five years and even if you said i'm the dumbbest you 've seen in this forum since 3 years, i'll post the answer.
A litle bit jquery :

Code: Select all

$ = jQuery;
function mainmenu(){
    $("li").click(
        function(e){
            $(e.currentTarget).children("ul").css("top", 28);
        });
}
$(document).ready( function(){ mainmenu(); });
Thanks a lot.

meti

smithh032772
Posts: 6144
Joined: 10 Sep 2011, 21:10

02 Jan 2012, 20:42

meti wrote:I found the trick.
And it had nothing to do with components around the menubar.
This behaviour is a naturel behaviour of the wijmo menu component, when it have not enough space to drop down, it drops to the top.
I work for the java community since more than five years and even if you said i'm the dumbbest you 've seen in this forum since 3 years, i'll post the answer.
A litle bit jquery :

Code: Select all

$ = jQuery;
function mainmenu(){
    $("li").click(
        function(e){
            $(e.currentTarget).children("ul").css("top", 28);
        });
}
$(document).ready( function(){ mainmenu(); });
Thanks a lot.

meti
Trick (code above) = solution OR trick = problem?
Howard

PrimeFaces 6.0, Extensions 6.0.0, Push (Atmosphere 2.4.0)
TomEE+ 1.7.4 (Tomcat 7.0.68), MyFaces Core 2.2.9, JDK8
JUEL 2.2.7 | OmniFaces | EclipseLink-JPA/Derby | Chrome

Java EE 6 Tutorial|NetBeans|Google|Stackoverflow|PrimeFaces|Apache

meti
Posts: 11
Joined: 19 Dec 2011, 18:56

04 Jan 2012, 11:50

This 'Magic trick' is the solution i needed.

meti

cagatay.civici
Prime
Posts: 18616
Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 00:21
Location: Cybertron
Contact:

04 Jan 2012, 11:57

I haven't said dumbbest, I said for the first time, sorry if I offended you by a mislead.

I still think your solution needs to be more generic to get inside PrimeFaces with collision detection with viewport instead of fixed values like 28.

Post Reply

Return to “PrimeFaces”

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 66 guests