Dynamic page/menu updates in nested layout

UI Components for JSF
baconinja

12 Jul 2012, 06:42

I am fairly new to JSF and PrimeFaces and have a couple issues in developing a full page layout with multiple menus.

ISSUE #1

We have a full page layout using PrimeFaces 3.3 with nested layout units on the left side as follows:

Code: Select all

<p:layoutUnit id="west" position="west" header="Services" resizable="true" closable="true" collapsible="true" effect="drop">
            <p:layout>                                          
                <p:layoutUnit id="inner_center" position="center">                        
                   <h:form id="formMainMenu">
                        <ui:include src="#{menuBean.pageToDisplay}.xhtml" />
                   </h:form>               
                </p:layoutUnit>
                <p:layoutUnit id="inner_south" size="200" position="south">                                       
                    <h:form id="formStartMenu">
                        <p:menu>
                            <p:submenu label="Start Menu">                                    
                                <p:menuitem value="Start" actionListener="#{#menuBean.setPageToDisplay('template/menu/start')}" update=":inner_center" />                                    
                            </p:submenu>
                        </p:menu>
                    </h:form>
            </p:layout>
Here is the backing bean:

@ManagedBean(name = "menuBean")
@SessionScoped
public class menuBean implements Serializable {

private String pageToDisplay = "template/menu/main";

public String getPageToDisplay() {
    return this.pageToDisplay;
}

public void setPageToDisplay(String pageToDisplay) {
    this.pageToDisplay = pageToDisplay; 
} 
}