Backward compatibility

UI Components for JSF
anan

09 Jul 2010, 10:30

Hi I am evaluating primefaces for my project in JSF and would like to share my experience. I first downloaded version 2.0.1 and was very excited to try it out. I created some simple pages. The skin was easy enough for me (who are not an expert) to customize to what I need.

However I was distracted to other work for a while before coming back to see there is a version 2.1RC. So I thought "This is great! New version!!!" I threw the jar file in and my simple app just won't work like it used to. I haven't gone to the functionality yet, just trying to redo the skin manually with the new template but it just won't do what I want. I can't change color for simple thing like menu bar. Oddly enough only some parts of the menu change color to what I specify. Background image shows up only in part of the menubar . I am not an expert and I know that this is just an RC but I can tell you the first skin was a lot easier for me to customize and most important of all it behaves exactly like expected. So I thought "Let's try a minor change 2.0.2 then if 2.1 doesn't work out." I put 2.0.2 package in and get error right away from autocomplete bean. Here is the tag (adapt from example) which works fine in 2.0.1

Code: Select all

<p:autoComplete value="#{autoCompleteBean.selection}"  
			completeMethod="#{autoCompleteBean.complete}"
		var="client" itemLabel="#{client.map['name']}#{client.map['iccid']}" itemValue="#{client}" converter="SimClientSearchConverter"/>
The error said "Property 'complete' not found on type test.AutoCompleteBean". Did you guys change method call to do property call instead in 2.0.2?
Please don't get me wrong. You guys did a wonderful job, just that changes between version are too much to handle and things just break with each new version coming out. I am not sure now if I should proceed using primefaces for my project. If so, I would have to stick to 2.0.1.
Regards
Anan

cagatay.civici