p:menuitem navigation is not working in internet explorer

UI Components for JSF
clement
Posts: 25
Joined: 27 Feb 2014, 12:32

03 Mar 2014, 16:36

Hi,
i have a problem with p:menuItem, here is my code :

Code: Select all

<p:layout fullPage="true">
	<p:layoutUnit position="north" size="100" resizable="false" styleClass="myLayoutStyleClassE">
		Top
        </p:layoutUnit>
	<p:layoutUnit position="south" size="100" closable="true" collapsible="true">
		Footer
        </p:layoutUnit>
        <p:layoutUnit position="west" size="175" header="Left" collapsible="true" resizable="true">
             <h:form>
			<p:menu>
				<p:submenu label="Resources">
					  <p:menuitem value="SCS p:cl" actionListener="#{layoutBean.setPage('supportCenterSample/main')}" update=":luc"/>
                                </p:submenu>
                       </p:menu>
             </h:form>
        </p:layoutUnit>
        <p:layoutUnit position="center" id="luc">
		<ui:include src="#{layoutBean.page}" />
    </p:layoutUnit>
</p:layout>
Firefox 27
Internet explorer 9


When i click on menuItem with firefox and chrome it works but with internet explorer nothing is passing.

What i'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.
--
Clément

Primefaces 6.0
Primefaces Extension 6.0.0
JSF 2.2.13
JBoss 7.1.3

smithh032772
Posts: 6144
Joined: 10 Sep 2011, 21:10

03 Mar 2014, 21:38

can you reply with your entire xhtml page, especially your h:head? did you add meta compatibility tag to h:head? you can search google or this forum, as it has been mentioned/recommended here (many times).

okay, the following has id="..." on the p:layoutUnit.

Code: Select all

        <p:layoutUnit position="center" id="luc">
      <ui:include src="#{layoutBean.page}" />
    </p:layoutUnit>
what happens when you add p:outputPanel and move id="luc" from layoutUnit to outputPanel (see below)?

Code: Select all

    <p:layoutUnit position="center">
        <p:outputPanel id="luc">
             <ui:include src="#{layoutBean.page}" />
        </p:outputPanel>
   </p:layoutUnit>
Howard

PrimeFaces 6.0, Extensions 6.0.0, Push (Atmosphere 2.4.0)
TomEE+ 1.7.4 (Tomcat 7.0.68), MyFaces Core 2.2.9, JDK8
JUEL 2.2.7 | OmniFaces | EclipseLink-JPA/Derby | Chrome

Java EE 6 Tutorial|NetBeans|Google|Stackoverflow|PrimeFaces|Apache

clement
Posts: 25
Joined: 27 Feb 2014, 12:32

04 Mar 2014, 11:17

Thanks for your response Howard here is the head part of my page:

Code: Select all

<?xml version='1.0' encoding='UTF-8' ?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"
      xmlns:h="http://java.sun.com/jsf/html"
      xmlns:f="http://java.sun.com/jsf/core"
      xmlns:ui="http://java.sun.com/jsf/facelets"
      xmlns:p="http://primefaces.org/ui">
    <f:view contentType="text/html">
        <h:head>
            <meta content='text/html; charset=UTF-8' http-equiv="Content-Type"/>
            <link rel="SHORTCUT ICON" href="images/2014.ico"/>
            <title>Front Office</title>
        </h:head>

        <h:body>
             ...
I search for meta compatibility and find :

Code: Select all

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE8"/>
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=9" />
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7" >
If that you tell me about?
I test these meta separately with no result.

For the second part of your response i test with <p:outputPanel /> and <h:panelGroup/> liker you said, it works on Firefox but not on InternetExplorer.


I hope it is me who has forgotten something, because it's a little discouraging.

Thanks for your help.
--
Clément

Primefaces 6.0
Primefaces Extension 6.0.0
JSF 2.2.13
JBoss 7.1.3

clement
Posts: 25
Joined: 27 Feb 2014, 12:32

04 Mar 2014, 11:42

I did research on head part and i have add the facet first to my head part like this :

Code: Select all

<h:head>
     <f:facet name="first">
          <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=xxx"/>
          <meta  http-equiv="Content-Type" content='text/html; charset=UTF-8'/>
      </f:facet>
       ...
It works. it just remains for me to choose which "X-UA-Compatible" to use.

Thanks for your response Howard, you have directed me towards the solution to my problem
--
Clément

Primefaces 6.0
Primefaces Extension 6.0.0
JSF 2.2.13
JBoss 7.1.3

smithh032772
Posts: 6144
Joined: 10 Sep 2011, 21:10

04 Mar 2014, 12:04

Edit :

Okay, great, glad you solved your issue.
Last edited by smithh032772 on 04 Mar 2014, 12:43, edited 1 time in total.
Howard

PrimeFaces 6.0, Extensions 6.0.0, Push (Atmosphere 2.4.0)
TomEE+ 1.7.4 (Tomcat 7.0.68), MyFaces Core 2.2.9, JDK8
JUEL 2.2.7 | OmniFaces | EclipseLink-JPA/Derby | Chrome

Java EE 6 Tutorial|NetBeans|Google|Stackoverflow|PrimeFaces|Apache

smithh032772
Posts: 6144
Joined: 10 Sep 2011, 21:10

04 Mar 2014, 12:12

Edit :

Okay, great, glad you solved your issue.
Last edited by smithh032772 on 04 Mar 2014, 12:44, edited 1 time in total.
Howard

PrimeFaces 6.0, Extensions 6.0.0, Push (Atmosphere 2.4.0)
TomEE+ 1.7.4 (Tomcat 7.0.68), MyFaces Core 2.2.9, JDK8
JUEL 2.2.7 | OmniFaces | EclipseLink-JPA/Derby | Chrome

Java EE 6 Tutorial|NetBeans|Google|Stackoverflow|PrimeFaces|Apache

User avatar
andyba
Expert Member
Posts: 2473
Joined: 31 Mar 2011, 16:27
Location: Steinfeld, near Bremen/Osnabrück, DE
Contact:

04 Mar 2014, 12:29

You should use edge as the UA-Compatibility value, this forces the browser to use the highest available ie mode.
Be aware that below IE 9 somethings may not work as expected but things like menuitem do work even with IE 7.
PF 4.x (Elite versions), PF 5, Pf 5.1, PF 6.0
Glassfish 4.1, Mojarra 2.x, Java 8, Payara 4.1.1.
If you haven't read the forum rules read them now

clement
Posts: 25
Joined: 27 Feb 2014, 12:32

04 Mar 2014, 12:45

Thanks you Andy for your response, i found "EDGE" like you said and it works.

Howard, i've just download PrimeFaces Extensions 1.2.1, i will test and come back to you. Thanks too.

PrimeFaces forum is reactive, it's cool :)
--
Clément

Primefaces 6.0
Primefaces Extension 6.0.0
JSF 2.2.13
JBoss 7.1.3

smithh032772
Posts: 6144
Joined: 10 Sep 2011, 21:10

04 Mar 2014, 12:47

+1 thanks for the clarification, Andy.

I have seen Andy advise on this topic countless times in the past, in this forum, that's why I advised to search this forum for Internet Explorer compatibility. :-)
Howard

PrimeFaces 6.0, Extensions 6.0.0, Push (Atmosphere 2.4.0)
TomEE+ 1.7.4 (Tomcat 7.0.68), MyFaces Core 2.2.9, JDK8
JUEL 2.2.7 | OmniFaces | EclipseLink-JPA/Derby | Chrome

Java EE 6 Tutorial|NetBeans|Google|Stackoverflow|PrimeFaces|Apache

clement
Posts: 25
Joined: 27 Feb 2014, 12:32

04 Mar 2014, 15:44

Thanks to you Howard and Andy. I can now envisage to use Primefaces more seriously :)

P.S. : How can i close the post?
--
Clément

Primefaces 6.0
Primefaces Extension 6.0.0
JSF 2.2.13
JBoss 7.1.3

Post Reply

Return to “PrimeFaces”

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests