Button behaviour

UI Components for JSF
propje

03 Aug 2010, 22:17

All, I am rather new to this and I was wondering if the behaviour of a button can be as follows:

As long as a button is pressed, the boolean value of a managed bean should be true. In all other cases the boolean value should be false.

Does primefaces have a component for this? If not, is it difficult to program one myself?

Thanks!!

wobblycogs

03 Aug 2010, 22:37

Create a bean with the boolean value set to false. Use the action or actionListener attribute in p:commandButton to call a method that sets the boolean value to true.
PrimeFaces 3.0.1, Mojarra 2.1.3, GlassFish 3.1.1, Netbeans 7.0, Firefox 7

cagatay.civici
Prime

03 Aug 2010, 23:16

Do you mean a button with checkbox behavior?

Here is an example;

http://jqueryui.com/demos/button/checkbox.html

propje

04 Aug 2010, 08:44

Optimus: I don't mean a button with checkbox behaviour.

Actually I want to make a start-button for a machine. This means that, only when the button is pressed down, the boolean should be true. When the button is not pressed, the value should be false.

Wobblycogs: As I said, I am rather new. I already read a lot of stuff, and have some understanding of the action and actionListener attribute, but I didn't get it to work properly. I just managed to get the value true when I pressed the button. When I released the button, nothing happened. Can you please help me a bit more?

What makes it, for me, more difficult is that I made a custom component for this button (I want to use it on more than one place).
I was able to
1/ create a managed bean for this custom component and
2/ get the boolean variable into my custom component via the cc:attribute tag