Row selection in data table along with cell editor

UI Components for JSF
Post Reply
Tiny
Posts: 79
Joined: 03 Jul 2013, 17:40

19 Apr 2014, 08:47

I'm currently trying with Primefaces 5.0 RC1.

I'm having a DataTable which contains some columns with <p:cellEditor> as usual in which selection of multiple rows is enabled by selectionMode="multiple".

When I click on a cell in a row containing <p:cellEditor>, the row is selected only time to time. The selection of the row is possible only when the padding area close to the cell borders is clicked. The selection is not made, when the actual text (or an image held by that cell) of that cell in the middle is clicked which is actually enclosed by <p:cellEditor>.

The following threads already discuss this issue.

http://forum.primefaces.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=28497

http://forum.primefaces.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=28319

http://forum.primefaces.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=28402

The issue was already reported

https://code.google.com/p/primefaces/is ... il?id=5241

It was closed and its status is WontFix.
Cell and Row selection at same time is not supported.
https://code.google.com/p/primefaces/is ... id=5241#c5

It is an error in an internal JavaScript file.

I can see the same thing in PrimeFaces 5.0 RC1 which is irritating somehow. The issue was introduced in PrimeFaces 3.5, before that it was working fine.

Is it really not supported and won't be fixed in the future?
PF 6.0, PF Ext 6.0.0, Mojarra 2.2.13, OmniFaces 2.5
Java EE 7, JAAS, EJB 3.2
Spring 4.0 GA, Spring Security 3.2.0 GA, Struts 2.3.16
EclipseLink 2.6.3 (JPA 2.1), Hibernate 5.2.1 (JPA 2.1)
GlassFish 4.1, WildFly 10.0.0, Tomcat 8.0.29
NetBeans 8.1, JDK 8u66

kukeltje
Expert Member
Posts: 9605
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 13:34
Location: Netherlands

19 Apr 2014, 14:15

Tiny wrote:Is it really not supported...
I tried with 4.0 and 5.0-RC1 and it is indeed not supported and It behaves 'inconsistently'.
Tiny wrote:It is an error in an internal JavaScript file.
I do not see this error, at least not with 4.0 or 5.0-RC1
Tiny wrote:I can see the same thing in PrimeFaces 5.0 RC1 which is irritating somehow.
Why? because something does not work for you? Well... sorry to hear, but the source is open...
Tiny wrote:... and won't be fixed in the future?
I don't think it will be 'fixed' unless a pro user requests it or group of elite users vote for it. Or... if a 'fix' is provided

The code of the datatable is fairly cleanly written, so to improve the eventhandling in the .js file should be doable for people with a little javascript/jquery knowledge.

Cheers

bsanders1979
Posts: 69
Joined: 02 Jun 2013, 18:37

20 Apr 2014, 19:16

I would suggest taking a look at the un-compressed javascript sources. If you haven't done so before, start with core.js as it will show you how the guts of PF work. Then, start looking at the pieces that interest you. You would be amazed at how I've pushed the capabilities beyond what is provided "out of the box". I've customized both server and client side code to suit my needs. It's all a matter of finding the right piece of code. Use Chrome's "Network" tab, filter on Documents, XHR, and Other. Then, you can see both request headers as well as the response which also provides insight to the inner workings of JSF/PF. Also, if you don't use maven, learn it. It makes most source to all dependencies easily/readily available.
PF 5.0
PF Ext 0.7.1
OmniFaces 1.7
Tomcat 7.0.37
JSF 2.1.24

kukeltje
Expert Member
Posts: 9605
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 13:34
Location: Netherlands

22 Apr 2014, 08:11

Yep, this is all correct... but in most cases you can start with the source of the component and when needed check the core...

Post Reply

Return to “PrimeFaces”

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests