Update OutputText element when node in Tree is selected.

UI Components for JSF
bornsilly

14 Aug 2010, 22:15

Hi,

I am pretty new to Primefaces or JSF in general and have a question regarding updating elements.
Right now i have a filled tree from a database and what i need is when a treenode is selected within the tree that a outputText elswhere on the page gets updated with the nodeName of the selected node.
Is this possible?

Thanks
PrimeFaces 3.3.4, Primefaces-extensions 0.6.0, JBoss 7.1, Mojarra 2.1.10

callahan

15 Aug 2010, 02:08

Hi,

Yes, this can be achieved with the trees instant ajax selection feature. There is an example here http://primefaces.org:8080/prime-showca ... onAjax.jsf. The example updates a growl, but with a few modifications it could update an outputText.

bornsilly

15 Aug 2010, 09:52

Thanks, i followed that example. However what i do notice is that when i set update which references to a layoutUnit that the header of the layoutunit doens't get updated. When i set a update on a outputText it works but when i update the layoutUnit it doesnt work or at least i need to referesh my page to see the header of that layout unit with the right value. Is there a way i can make the layoutUnit's header value being updated when i select a node?
PrimeFaces 3.3.4, Primefaces-extensions 0.6.0, JBoss 7.1, Mojarra 2.1.10

callahan

15 Aug 2010, 10:47

I've noticed that in the past myself too. When a layout unit is updated, only the content between <p:layoutUnit> and </p:layoutUnit> gets updated. This means that the header itself is not updated as the header is an attribute of the <p:layoutUnit>.