Primefaces and Richfaces integration

UI Components for JSF
cagatay.civici
Prime
Posts: 18616
Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 00:21
Location: Cybertron
Contact:

13 May 2009, 01:28

Please try with the lates 0.9.0-SNAPSHOT, this version uses jQuery in noConflict mode.

Also please state what primefaces components are you using in your page that has the prototype error.

Murali
Posts: 38
Joined: 11 May 2009, 16:17

13 May 2009, 14:22

Thanks Cagatay,
With the latest snapshot jar file, I'm not getting the JavaScript error :D
I got the prototype error for columnChart component.

cagatay.civici
Prime
Posts: 18616
Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 00:21
Location: Cybertron
Contact:

13 May 2009, 14:24

Great!

vincent
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Nov 2009, 17:17

20 Nov 2009, 17:25

Hi -- (please include the url link if this question has been answered),
I'd like to know about Primefaces & Richfaces comparison when both are used together. Which uses more memory overhead and does Richfaces/Primefaces reloads the whole page when implementing ajax or just a small designated section?

cagatay.civici
Prime
Posts: 18616
Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 00:21
Location: Cybertron
Contact:

20 Nov 2009, 17:52

Hi Vincent, There's a comparison here;

http://cagataycivici.wordpress.com/2009 ... libraries/

PrimeFaces has no custom viewhandler, viewroot, html parser, state manager and so on which exist in RichFaces. PrimeFaces does much less computation and keeps a little footprint while doing so. There're many users in this forum who also stated the performance difference various times. Also following page could help;

http://primefaces.prime.com.tr/en/whyprimefaces.html

Still you can use both if you need to since PrimeFaces is a compatible library.

Hope this helps.

eirirlar
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Feb 2010, 09:27

26 Feb 2010, 09:41

I'm having trouble with the integration. I'm using JSF 2 libs with richfaces 3.3.3 beta. Richfaces 3.3.3 supports running with JSF 2 libs, but it currently doesn't support the new JSF2 tags like h:head. Even so, I gave primefaces 2.0.0 a try with richfaces 3.3.3. It didn't work, but that was expected. So I used the primefaces 1.0.0 libs instead, and got it working with Atmosphere.

The only problem is that richfaces styling disappears. After fiddling about a bit I discovered that styles appear correct the moment the page loads, but after a very short moment it disappears again. When I remove the <p:resources /> from the <head> richfaces styling work as before, but of course then primefaces doesn't work.

I'm thinking that this problem might come from YUI or jQuery styling overrides richfaces. Is there something I can do to disable that?

If you need a demo app for this I can provide it, just answer the post with your email.

cagatay.civici
Prime
Posts: 18616
Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 00:21
Location: Cybertron
Contact:

02 Mar 2010, 15:07

Please consult RichFaces forum, as I know you need RichFaces 4.0 for proper JSF 2.0 support that is already in PrimeFaces.

Problems you have described seems to be caused by RichFaces and JSF 2.0. For JSF 1.2, I know many users using these two libraries with no major problems.

bmon
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 18:11

30 Mar 2011, 18:49

Hi guys.

I am using RF 3.3 Trying to add Primefaces. as soon as I add primefaces-2.2.1.jar to the web-inf/lib and start application - I am getting
Error 500: Application was not properly initialized at startup, could not find Factory: javax.faces.context.FacesContextFactory . here is my web.xml:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<web-app version="2.5"
xmlns="http://java.sun.com/xml/ns/javaee"
xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
xsi:schemaLocation="http://java.sun.com/xml/ns/javaee http://java.sun.com/xml/ns/javaee/web-app_2_5.xsd">
<display-name>Greeter</display-name>

<context-param>
<param-name>org.jboss.jbossfaces.WAR_BUNDLES_JSF_IMPL</param-name>
<param-value>true</param-value>
</context-param>
<context-param>
<param-name>javax.faces.STATE_SAVING_METHOD</param-name>
<param-value>server</param-value>
</context-param>

<context-param>
<param-name>org.richfaces.SKIN</param-name>
<param-value>#{skinBean.skin}</param-value>
</context-param>

<context-param>
<param-name>org.richfaces.CONTROL_SKINNING</param-name>
<param-value>enable</param-value>
</context-param>

<filter>
<display-name>RichFaces Filter</display-name>
<filter-name>richfaces</filter-name>
<filter-class>org.ajax4jsf.Filter</filter-class>
</filter>

<filter-mapping>
<filter-name>richfaces</filter-name>
<servlet-name>Faces Servlet</servlet-name>
<dispatcher>REQUEST</dispatcher>
<dispatcher>FORWARD</dispatcher>
<dispatcher>INCLUDE</dispatcher>
</filter-mapping>

<listener>
<listener-class>com.sun.faces.config.ConfigureListener</listener-class>
</listener>

<!-- Faces Servlet -->
<servlet>
<servlet-name>Faces Servlet</servlet-name>
<servlet-class>javax.faces.webapp.FacesServlet</servlet-class>
<load-on-startup>1</load-on-startup>
</servlet>

<!-- Faces Servlet Mapping -->
<servlet-mapping>
<servlet-name>Faces Servlet</servlet-name>
<url-pattern>*.jsf</url-pattern>
</servlet-mapping>

<welcome-file-list>
<welcome-file>index.html</welcome-file>
<welcome-file>index.htm</welcome-file>
<welcome-file>index.jsp</welcome-file>
<welcome-file>default.html</welcome-file>
<welcome-file>default.htm</welcome-file>
<welcome-file>default.jsp</welcome-file>
</welcome-file-list>
</web-app>

Any suggestions?

cagatay.civici
Prime
Posts: 18616
Joined: 05 Jan 2009, 00:21
Location: Cybertron
Contact:

30 Mar 2011, 18:50

RF3 does not support JSF 2 completely so you can't use PrimeFaces 2.2, JSF 2 with RichFaces 3.

bmon
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 18:11

30 Mar 2011, 19:01

Hi optimus.prime. Thank you for the reply. I am using jsf 1.2.

Post Reply

Return to “PrimeFaces”

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests